Skip to content

Lobster with Sauce Américaine: One of Our All-Time Favorites

December 2, 2011

Fresh lobster, shelled and beautifully dressed for the holiday season!

Lobster with sauce Américaine is becoming a Michael’s New York staple. Our beloved guests order it again and again, so we’ve begun to reinvent it each season—keeping all the classic elements while adding intriguing new elements—to make this popular dish an always-exciting pleasure. We start with the basics: fresh Maine lobster and our incredible sauce Américaine, a suave blend of tomatoes, onions, white wine, brandy, butter, and cayenne. Then, this time around, we add fresh Brussels sprout leaves, a perfect counterpoint to the richness of the succulent lobster meat and sauce. We surround the beautiful lobster tail with fresh, appealingly hand-made pillows of gnocchi, which we boil briefly and then pan-brown in butter to give them a luscious golden crust. The result: absolute deliciousness.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda Clark permalink
    December 9, 2011 6:56 pm

    Yesterday, 12/8/11, my dear friend, Norman Kappler was at Michael’s for lunch
    with his children. We both adore the restaurant and Michael is wonderful. Norman called me today to tell me what a special lunch it was and he couldn’t stop talking about the Lobster Tail dish that he ordered.

    I’m wondering if you could give me some advice. I’m a chef and he’s spending Christmas with me at my home in Vero Beach, FL. and I’d LOVE to surprise him on Christmas Eve and recreate the dish for him. Would you consider sharing the recipe with me? Or even the methodology??? Many thanks and I hope to see you the next time I am in New York! Cheers, Linda Clark

    • December 9, 2011 7:52 pm

      Hey Linda!

      Thank you so much for the kind words. Let me talk to head chef Kyung and Big Mike and see if I can send you so info!! We’d love to ahve you at the resto, too!

      xxx

Leave a Reply

